Logan’s 2012 Lit List!

I gain great pleasure from recounting the books I’ve read in the past year. Not only am I surprised at the amount I’ve been able to get through, but seeing this list reminds me of where I was when I read each of these books, for example, I read Dark Diversions one chapter at a time during  the most recent Festival week. One evening in particular, I just finished speaking with Mr. Saul in the hotel hallway before I made my way back to my room to dive back into his book; it’s memories like these that begin to surface when reading back over this list.

There’s a bit of a pattern and timeline to my book choices throughout the year. I begin in January by reading books that are left over from my “I’m done the Festival and the 2013 books aren’t out yet so I’m going to finally read what I want” phase. Usually that stage lasts only a book or two, as we begin receiving advance copies of Spring and Fall titles soon after the calendar year begins.

My second phase occurs around mid-January to February-ish. This is the “Oh jeez there are so many 2013 books that I need to read and they are all 400 pages for some strange reason; I better cancel all my library holds until next October” stage that typically lasts until July.

Once that time has mercifully passed and the majority of the program has been completed, I find myself in the “the Festival is getting closer and I need to read as many books as I can so I can discuss how much I liked their book when I meet the author” point of the year, which is really fun, although important to note that not all Festival books are ready for me to read before the author arrives, which leads me to the last phase. This is the “the Festival has just finished but I really liked this author so I’m going to read their book even though I don’t technically have to” phase, which is probably the most pleasurable of all the book phases, to be quite honest. Some of my favourite books are discovered at this time, and this is how I came upon a newfound fascination with Frida Kahlo, thanks to F.G. Haghenbeck’s colourful (in writing and cover art) The Secret Book of Frida Kahlo.

A Hidden Gem of 2012

A Hidden Gem of 2012

Now this isn’t written in stone, I can and will read books out of this order when I’m feeling rebellious, so the above ramblings can only be seen as a general outline of my reading schedule. With that in mind, I give you the 2012 Logan Lit List.

  1.  Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures by Vincent Lam
  2. Web of Angels by Lilian Nattel
  3. The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood
  4. I am Half-Sick of Shadows by Alan Bradley
  5. The Keeper of Lost Causes by Jussi Adler-Olsen
  6. Midnight Sweatlodge by Waubgeshig Rice
  7. 419 by Will Ferguson
  8. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami
  9. Magnified World by Grace O’Connell
  10. One Good Hustle by Billie Livingston
  11. The Headmaster’s Wager by Vincent Lam
  12. People Who Disappear by Alex Leslie
  13. Our Lady of Alice Bhatti by Mohammed Hanif
  14. Mad Hope by Heather Birrell
  15. The Blondes by Emily Schultz
  16. Dr. Brinkley’s Tower by Robert Hough
  17. Thirst by Shree Ghatage
  18. Confined Space by Deryn Collier
  19. The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker
  20. Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin
  21. Y by Marjorie Celona
  22. The Nun by Simonetta Agnello Hornby
  23. Life is About Losing Everything by Lynn Crosbie
  24. People Park by Pasha Malla
  25. Radio Belly by Buffy Cram
  26. Maidenhead by Tamara Faith Berger
  27. White Horse by Alex Adams
  28. In the Orchard, the Swallows by Peter Hobbs
  29. Five Bells by Gail Jones
  30. Why Men Lie by Linden MacIntyre
  31. The Placebo Effect by David Rotenberg
  32. Whirl Away by Russell Wangersky
  33. Tom is Dead by Marie Darrieussecq
  34. Suspicion by Rachel Wyatt
  35. Inside by Alix Ohlin
  36. Stray Love by Kyo Maclear
  37. More in Anger by J. Jill Robinson
  38. The Age of Hope by David Bergen
  39. That Deadman Dance by Kim Scott
  40. Office Girl by Joe Meno
  41. Cures for Hunger by Deni Y. Béchard
  42. Bitter Drink by F.G. Haghenbeck
  43. The Western Light by Susan Swan
  44. The Dead are More Visible by Steven Heighton
  45. The Way we Fall by Megan Crewe
  46. The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
  47. Signs and Wonders by Alix Ohlin
  48. The World by Bill Gaston
  49. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
  50. Missed Her by Ivan E. Coyote
  51. The Sweet Hereafter by Russell Banks
  52. The Milk Chicken Bomb by Andrew Wedderburn
  53. Memoirs of a Porcupine by Alain Mabanckou
  54. A Sunless Sea by Anne Perry
  55. Lionel Asbo by Martin Amis
  56. In the Shadow of the Banyan by Vaddey Ratner
  57. Up and Down by Terry Fallis
  58. The Deception of Livvy Higgs by Donna Morrissey
  59. The Sweet Girl by Annabel Lyon
  60. Becoming Holmes by Shane Peacock
  61. Dark Diversions by John Ralston Saul
  62. The Selector of Souls by Shauna Singh Baldwin
  63. Bull Head by John Vigna
  64. The Secret Book of Frida Kahlo by F.G. Haghenbeck
  65. Canada by Richard Ford
  66. Who Could that Be at This Hour? by Lemony Snicket
  67. Without Honour by Rob Tripp
  68. The Middlesteins by Jami Attenberg
  69. The Purchase by Linda Spalding
  70. The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes
  71. Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo
  72. Gold by Chris Cleave
  73. The Emperor of Paris by C.S. Richardson
  74. I Feel Bad About my Neck by Nora Ephron
  75. The Round House by Louise Erdrich
  76. I Remember Nothing by Nora Ephron
  77. The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan
  78. Unholy Night by Seth Grahame-Smith
  79. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  80. Runaway by Alice Munro

 

3 Comments

Filed under Behind the Scenes

3 responses to “Logan’s 2012 Lit List!

  1. Pingback: It’s That Time of Year Again! | WordFest Blog

  2. Pingback: Books Ive Read in 2013 | i've read this

  3. Pingback: Books Ive Read in 2014 | i've read this

Leave a Reply

