Pre-Launch…Launch

The last time I posted on this blog, I finished by noting that WordFest 2012 was only 349 days away.  Well that day…isn’t today. But there are only 41 more sleeps until WordFest, and in a way, the event starts tomorrow with the official launch, announcing authors, artists and events.  I’m happy to again be writing as Festival Blogger, and am looking forward to another fun and educational week talking about books!

For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Bryan Wright, returning for my second stint of festival blogging.  Naturally, I love reading, and spend a good deal of my spare time doing so.  I also blog about what I read, and have done book reviews for the CBC in the past.  As far as what I enjoy reading, I would say I have varied tastes.  I can tell you that one of my favourite books is Gone With the Wind (if you haven’t read it, you should, and seeing the movie doesn’t count), I don’t enjoy reading Virginia Woolf (sorry Anne, she’s unbearably tedious), and that the best book nobody has ever heard of is The Sot-Weed Factor by John Barth.  Please comment below if you have read it or even heard of it; I have, to date, only met one person who fits into either category.

But I digress.  I am very excited to again be a part of WordFest, and look forward to writing about everything I do involving the festival, and perhaps about a few things that don’t.  By working for WordFest, not only do I get to see so many authors from around the world read from their latest books, but also to experience everything that goes on behind the scenes in creating a major literary festival.  It truly is a wonderful time for me.

This year, staying on top of everything going on at WordFest will be easier than ever.  First off, there is of course this blog, where I plan to be posting throughout each day of the festival, as well as in the weeks leading up to it.  But wait, there’s more!  You can also follow WordFest on twitter.  There is the official WordFest feed at @wordfesttweets, there is my twitter feed @therevbw, and there is the official WordFest hashtag #wordfest2012.  I plan on a very busy twitter feed this year, with photos, videos, and in-depth coverage of everything I see and do.

You can also follow what’s going on at WordFest’s official website, www.wordfest.com as well as the WordFest Facebook page.  Simply put, ‘I didn’t know so-and-so would be here this year,’ or ‘I forgot event XYZ was on Thursday,’ will not be acceptable excuses.

So without further ado, let’s get to the launch…which is tomorrow, Wednesday, August 29th at the Westin.  So without further ado would be more appropriate for tomorrow, as I have much more to ‘ado’ between now and then!

-Bryan

www.wordfest.com
@wordfesttweets
@therevbw

1 Comment

Filed under 2012 Festival Blog, Behind the Scenes

One response to “Pre-Launch…Launch

  1. Thanks for this lovely post Bryan, and although our views differ on Virginia Woolf, I’m sure we’ll find some common ground with our Festival authors this year!

Leave a Reply

