Cleared for Launch

Allow myself to introduce…myself.  I find it impossible not to use this great line from Austin Powers every time I…introduce myself.  Anyway, I’m Bryan Wright, and I’ll be your friendly festival blogger for WordFest in 2011!

 Despite the fact that I’d describe myself as a ‘book lover’, and despite the fact I blog about my reading, and despite the fact I do book reviews on the radio, I’ve never actually attended WordFest.  I could come up with a long list of excuses, but I don’t want to bore you with the details of my secret career in foreign espionage.  Instead, I’ll just say that I’m happy to finally be attending, and I’m excited to be able to share my experiences with you over the next couple of months.

 My goal will be to not only keep readers informed of festival news and offer a running commentary on the proceedings, but also to give them a behind the scenes look of what goes on.  This will include interviews with the staff and volunteers who make everything run smoothly as well as the authors who often do the opposite, videos and photos of the proceedings, and most importantly, my random musings of what I see and hear.

 While the festival itself doesn’t get started until October 11, the ball really gets rolling this morning, with the official launch, where authors, books, and events will be announced.

 I await, with eager anticipation, my first foray into WordFest, which should be only a couple of hours away.

 You can follow my experiences in a variety of technologically advanced ways.  Of course you can read every blog post right here at Between the Lines, but can also follow us on twitter @wordfesttweets, and on Facebook.  In the coming weeks, we’ll also be featuring videos on YouTube and photos on Flickr.

 I look forward to hearing from you, and seeing you at WordFest 2011!

 

– Bryan

Leave a comment

Filed under 2011 Festival Blog

Leave a Reply

