WordFest Launch: What a piece of work!

Unless you’ve been living under a rock with no reading light in the past few days, you are probably aware that WordFest launched its 2010 line-up this past Wednesday. Why is this such a big deal? To avoid the tedious task of constructing grammatically correct paragraphs, I have compiled the following reasons into a list:

  1. I get to meet many of our local artists for the first time. And of course, they are always as lovely in person as they are in their artist photo.
  2. I get to wear a nametag and feel self-important.
  3. The catering is delicious
  4. I love breakfast pastries. I enjoy all the intellectual banter that the crowd has to offer afterwards.

Please excuse my listing technique, I realize avoiding proper grammar at a writer’s festival is somewhat embarrassing, but considering how busy we have been in the office, I think I have a pretty good excuse. Furthermore, if my above reasons seem somewhat small in the grand scheme of things, I have four more reasons why I am glad the launch is over. See below:

  1. When people ask “what artists are coming this year” I no longer have to respond with the ambiguous phrase “I can’t tell you, because it’s embargoed information”.
  2. I won’t have to explain to people what “embargoed” means.
  3. Tickets are now on sale, so when I answer phones at the office, I get to talk ‘books’ with other WordFest fans who want to purchase seats.
  4. I generally can’t keep a secret, so I’m thanking my lucky starts I no longer have to!

Things are getting more excited by the day, so stay tuned to my blog and head to www.wordfest.com to hear more about our wonderful events coming up!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

